• Dist1 Dist2 District 3 Dist4 District 5
    Dist 6 Seat 7 Seat 8 Seat 9
    The Atlanta Board of Education establishes and approves the policies that govern the Atlanta Public School system. The Board consists of nine members, representing six geographical districts and three "at-large" districts. One person is elected per district to represent the schools in a given district for a four-year term.

    Under the provisions of the new board charter, approved by the Georgia Legislature in 2003, Board members elect a new chair and vice-chair every two years. The day-to-day administration of the school district is the responsibility of the Superintendent, who is appointed by the Board.

    Schools by District


    District 1

    Elementary Schools:  Atlanta Neighborhood Charter (K-5), Benteen, D. H. Stanton, Dobbs, Hope-Hill, The Kindezi School-Old Fourth Ward (K-5), KIPP Vision Primary (K-2), Mary Lin, Parkside, Slater, Thomasville Heights, Wesley International Academy (K-5)
    Middle Schools: Atlanta Neighborhood Charter (6-8), KIPP Vision Academy (5-8), Martin Luther King, Jr., Price, Wesley International Academy (6-8)
    High Schools:  The New Schools at Carver, Henry W. Grady*,  Maynard Holbrook  Jackson (*Shared by District’s 1 & 3)


    District 2

    Elementary Schools:  Bethune, Centennial Academy (K-5), Dunbar, F.L. Stanton, Finch, M.A. Jones, The Kindezi School-Westlake (K-5), KIPP Strive Primary (K-3), KIPP West Atlanta Young Scholars (WAYS) Primary (K-1)
    Middle Schools:  Brown,  Centennial Academy (6-7),  KIPP Strive Charter (5-8), KIPP West Atlanta Young Scholars (WAYS) Academy (5-8), The Kindezi School-Westlake (6-8)
    High Schools:  Booker T. Washington, Frederick  Douglass, KIPP Atlanta Collegiate (9-12), North Metro

    District 3

    Elementary Schools:  Burgess-Peterson Academy, Drew Charter (K-5), Morningside, Springdale Park, Toomer, Whitefoord
    Middle Schools:  Drew Charter (6-8), Inman
    High Schools:  Adult Literacy Program, Alonzo Crim Open Campus, Drew Charter (9-11), Henry W. Grady* (*Shared by District’s 1 & 3)
    Residential Flexible Learning Program:  Hillside Conant (Grades 2-12)

    District 4

    Elementary Schools:  Atlanta Classical Academy (K-5), Brandon, Brandon Primary, E. Rivers, Garden Hills, Jackson, Jackson Primary, Smith, Smith Primary
    Middle Schools:  Atlanta Classical Academy (6-8), Sutton
    High Schools:  Atlanta Classical Academy (9th), North Atlanta

    District 5

    Elementary Schools:  Adamsville Primary, Beecher Hills, Bolton Academy, Boyd, Connally, Fain, Grove Park Intermediate, Miles Intermediate, Peyton Forest, Scott, Towns, Usher-Collier Heights, Westside Atlanta (K-4), West Manor, Woodson Primary

    Middle Schools: 
    Harper-Archer, Young

    High Schools: 
    Benjamin E. Mays, The West End Academy

    Single Gender Schools: 
    B.E.S.T. Academy (6-12), Coretta Scott King Academy (6-12)

    District 6

    Elementary Schools:  Cascade, Cleveland Avenue, Continental Colony, Deerwood Academy, Fickett, Gideons, Heritage Academy, Humphries, Hutchinson, Kimberly, Perkerson, Venetian Hills  
    Middle Schools:  Bunche, Crawford W. Long, Latin Academy Charter School (6-8), Sylvan Hills
    High Schools:  D.M. Therrell, The Forrest Hills Academy,  South Atlanta

    Note:  Italics indicate charter schools or non-traditional programs



    Please click here for the board agenda and relevant action items.