Important Attendance Information
The latest to pick up your child for early dismissal is 3 p.m.
If a student is arriving after 9:30 a.m., the child must be brought in by a parent or guardian.
In support of student success, the Atlanta Board of Education expects students to be present at school and
to arrive and depart on time in accordance with the provisions of the Georgia compulsory attendance law.
Pursuant to O.C.G.A. §20-02-0690.1, parents, guardians, or other persons having control or charge of
students are liable for the student's attendance in school.
In view of the negative effects of excessive tardiness and absenteeism on student performance, the Board
expects local schools to initiate programs to assist students in improving their attendance and punctuality.
See Policy JB.
Chronic absenteeism, truancy, and habitual tardies create a barrier to students’ ability to reach their full
academic potential. Students who are absent or tardy miss valuable instructional time and are less likely
to master those skills, concepts, and principles needed for success. Make-up work can never replace the
learning process that takes place in the classroom. Regular school attendance also establishes a pattern of
positive habits that can be carried over throughout life.
Please note that absences are coded as excused in accordance with the Official Code of Georgia and Georgia
State Board of Education guidelines.
COMPULSORY ATTENDANCE LAW
In accordance with the Official Code of Georgia, O.C.G.A. § 20-2-690.1, mandatory attendance in a public
school, private school, or home school program shall be required for children between their sixth and
sixteenth birthdays. Any parent, guardian, or other person residing in this state who has control or charge
of a child or children and who violates this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon
conviction thereof shall be subject to:
Fine – not less than $25.00 and not greater than $100.00
Imprisonment – not to exceed 30 days
Community Service – or any combination of such penalties at the discretion of the court having
All children enrolled in public school for 20 school days or more are subject to compulsory school
attendance, even if they are under 6 years of age (O.C.G.A. § 20-2-150).
Please see the chart below for a quick view of Atlanta Public Schools attendance protocol:
By September 1 of each school year Parent/guardian signs Acknowledgement Signature Page
indicating receipt of notification of
penalties/consequences for failing to comply with
compulsory attendance law.
Three (3) Unexcused Absences A letter is mailed to parent(s)/guardian(s) notifying
them that their child has at least three unexcused
absences and explains attendance expectations.
Five (5) Unexcused Absences A letter is mailed to parent(s)/guardian(s) notifying them
that their child has at least five unexcused absences,
reminding them of possible penalties/consequences of
misdemeanor violation, and requesting parent/guardian
participation in a Student Attendance Committee (SAC)
Eight (8) Unexcused Absences The student may be referred to the school social
worker. Once referred to, the intensity of strategies and
interventions are increased; including a referral to
community agencies, home visits, and parent
Ten (10) Unexcused Absences
The social worker may refer the student to Juvenile
Court if parent(s)/guardian(s) are noncompliant with
attendance interventions or attendance does not
improve after the student has accumulated ten