• Over the last few years our athletic programs,led by SMS teachers Lisa Kepler Dwike Leonard, have become a very competitive and popular extracurricular activity.
     
    PTA financially supplements Sutton Athletics in order to offer students the opportunity to compete and participate in sports not typically offered by APS. 
     
    Follow us on Twitter @suttonmssports 
     
    Coaches 2016-2017
     
    Cheerleading X Curlese Benson
    Asst. Cheerleading* X
    Head Football X Tariq Sewell
    Asst. Football X Michael Jett
    Asst. Football X Dwike Leonard
    Head Softball X Billye Edwards
    Boys Soccer X Omari Murphy
    Boys Soccer -asst X Benjamin Kra
    Cross Country -girls X Lisa Kepler
    Cross Country -boys Israel Vance
    Volleyball -A X Kelly Connor
    Volleyball X Cathryn Kearns
    Tennis X Gordon Benedict
    Boys Basketball X Dwike Leonard
    Asst. B. Basketball X Robert Harris
    Girls Basketball X Charlotte Sanford
     
     
    1st Semester Sports (also see individual sports pages)
     
    2016-2017

    Sport

    Coach

    Tryouts

    Practice Days

    Time

    Contact

    Equipment

     

    Football

     

    T. Sewell

    M. Jett

    D. Leonard

    August 4, 5, 8, 9, 2016

     

    Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday

     

    4:00PM-6:00PM

     

    tsewell@atlanta.k12.ga.us

    mjett@atlanta.k12.ga.us

    dleonard@atlanta.k12.ga.us

    Water bottle, athletic wear

    DO NOT purchase special equipment until you have been selected for the team.

     

    Softball

     

    B. Edwards

    J. Middlebrooks

    August 8, 9, 10, 2016

     

    Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday

     

    4:00PM-6:00PM

     

    bidwards@atlanta.k12.ga.us

    jamiddlebrooks@atlanta.k12.ga.us

     

    Water bottle, athletic wear

    DO NOT purchase special equipment until you have been selected for the team.

     

    Boys Soccer

     

    B. Kra

    O. Murphy

     

    August 8, 9, 10, 2016

     

    Monday-Friday

     

    4:00PM-6:00PM

     

    bkra@atlanta.k12.ga.us

    omarimurphy@gmail.com

    Water bottle, athletic wear

    DO NOT purchase special equipment until you have been selected for the team.

     

    Girls Volleyball

    K. Conner

    C. Kearns

    K. Kozack

     

    August 8, 9, 10, 2016

     

    Monday-Thursday

     

    4:00PM-6:00PM

    conner@atlanta.k12.ga.us

    kearns@atlanta.k12.ga.us

    kozakkl@comcast.net

    Water bottle, athletic wear

    DO NOT purchase special equipment until you have been selected for the team.

     

    Cross Country

     

    L. Kepler

    I. Vance

    August 15, 16, 17, 2016

     

    Monday, Wednesday, Thursday

     

    4:00PM-6:00PM

     

    lkepler@atlanta.k12.ga.us

    ivance@atlanta.k12.ga.us

    Water bottle, athletic wear

    DO NOT purchase special equipment until you have been selected for the team.

     

    Cheerleading

    C. Benson

    M. Philippe

    August 2016 (Football) October 2016 (Basketball)

     

    Monday-Thursday

     

    4:00PM-6:00PM


    curlese.benson@atlanta.k12.ga.us

     

    Water bottle, all white tee shirt, all black shorts

    Basketball

    (Girls)

    C. Sanford

    L. Rhodes

    October 31- November 2

    Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday

    4:30 PM-

    6:00 PM

    csanford@atlanta.k12.ga.us

    lrhodes@atlanta.k12.ga.us

     

    Water bottle, athletic (basketball) wear

    DO NOT purchase special equipment until you have been selected for the team.

    Basketball

    (Boys)

    D. Leonard

    M. Jett

    October 31- November 2

    Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday

    4:30 PM-

    6:00 PM

    dleonard@atlanta.k12.ga.us

    mdjett@atlanta.k12.ga.us

     

     

    Water bottle, athletic (basketball) wear

    DO NOT purchase special equipment until you have been selected for the team.