Kindergarten in Atlanta Public Schools is a full-day program.
Current Georgia Residents
By state law, children must be 5 by September 1 of the school year in order to enroll in kindergarten during that school year.
Children Moving from other States or Countries
Children who were legal residents of another state or country for a period of two years immediately prior to moving to Georgia and who were legally enrolled in a public, state/regional or equivalently accredited kindergarten are eligible for enrollment in kindergarten if the child is 5 by December 31.
WHAT DO YOU NEED TO BRING TO COMPLETE ENROLLMENT
Students new to APS (entering Kindergarten students and students coming to APS from other school districts, private schools or charter schools) should complete an enrollment form. Click here to download a New Student Enrollment Form.
The person enrolling a student should present proper identification. This identification may include a driver’s license, a state identification card, a passport, or other official photo identification, such as an ID card obtained through an official government agency or consulate.
PROOF OF RESIDENCY IN THE ATTENDANCE ZONE
The person enrolling a student should provide proof of residency in the attendance zone.
Certified birth certificate of the student.
GEORGIA CERTIFICATE OF IMMUNIZATION
By state law, a valid certificate of immunization (Form #3231) or a notarized statement of religious exemption is required for enrollment. The certificate of immunization must be completed by the health department or your private physician. A valid Form #3231 must be marked with either “Date of Expiration” or as “Complete for School Attendance.” (A certificate marked with a “Date of Expiration” expires on the date indicated. A current certificate must be submitted within 30 days of expiration.) A medical exemption should be noted on Form #3231 with a current date of expiration. Click here for IMMUNIZATION EXEMPTION-RELIGIOUS OBJECTION
CERTIFICATE OF VISION, HEARING AND DENTAL EXAM
This information should be obtained within the last year and should be on Georgia Form #3300. This form is available from the health department or your physician and dentist. Letters from appropriate healthcare professionals and out-of-state certificates are acceptable, if completed within the last 12 months and stapled to the state form. Click here for Fulton County Health Department locations, maps, and hours of operation.
PROOF OF LEGAL GUARDIANSHIP
Proof of Legal Guardianship is required for enrollment if the enrolling adult is not the birth parent. To learn more, contact Fulton County Probate Court at 404-613-4070. The Probate Court is located at 136 Pryor Street SW, Suite C-230, Atlanta, Georgia 30303.
Click here to visit the Fulton County Probate Court's web page.
PROOF OF LEGAL CUSTODY
If legal custody of a child is split between two parents, in ADDITION to the documents listed above, you must also attach a certified copy of the most recent court order identifying each parent’s respective award of physical custody. You are responsible to immediately inform the school of any changes to the court order.
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
State law requires that schools ask for this number at the time of enrollment. Students will be enrolled, even if the number is not provided, but parents will be asked to sign an Objection to Use of Social Security Number.
PRE- KINDERGARTEN STUDENTS
Atlanta Public Schools has a full day pre-kindergarten program. Students registering for pre-kindergarten must be four years of age on or before September 1. For more information, visit APS PRE-KINDERGARTEN PROGRAM.
HOW TO APPLY FOR A SOCIAL SECURITY CARD
HOW TO ORDER A GEORGIA BIRTH CERTIFICATE
Parents enrollng Kindergarteners in school can now order Georgia birth certificates online directly from the State of Georgia. The Georgia Technology Authority partnering with the Georgia Department of Public Health provides Request Official Vital Event Records (ROVER), making it convenient to order certificates directly from the State of Georgia. Save the time of mailing in forms, and the effort of driving to a physical location. You can use ROVER to order from the comfort of your home, office, or anywhere you have access to the internet. All requests incur a $25 search fee and, an $8 processing fee. Each additional copy of a certificate ordered at the same time is $5, and expedited processing and shipping is an additional $10. Only authorized requestors may receive an official certificate, and all orders require a faxed proof of identification before they will be fulfilled. Learn more about ordering through ROVER, and please take a moment to read the frequently asked questions. Most orders take four to five weeks to be shipped, and expedited processing and shipping are available for an additional fee of $10 per certificate.