• At BT Washington HS, we believe in creating an environment where students love to learn, educators inspire,families engage and the community trusts the system.Booker T. Washington High School, named for the famous educator,opened in September 1924 under the auspices of the Atlanta Board of Education, with the late Charles Lincoln Harper as principal.It is the first public high school for African- Americans in the state of Georgia and the Atlanta Public Schools. The building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. In 1927, the only exact replica of the Booker T. Washington monument at Tuskegee University in Alabama was erected at the school's entrance. The statue of Washington, called "Booker T. Washington Lifting the Veil of Ignorance" by sculptor Charles Keck reads: "He lifted theveil of ignorance from his people and pointed the way to progress through education and industry."

    Prior to its transformation in 2009 to small schools, Washington High had been led by nine principals - Mr. Charles Lincoln Harper (1924-1942), Mr. Clinton Cornell (1942-1961), Dr. J. Y. Moreland (1961-1968) Dr. Alvin Dawson(1968-1973), Dr. Robert Collins, Jr. (1973-1990), Dr. Robert Lowe (1990-194), Dr. Joyce Clark (1994-1996), Dr. Shirley Kilgore (1996-2005), and Mr. Carter E. Coleman, Jr. (2005-2009).

    Washington High School operated as three small schools within a school from 2009 until 2014. On August 12, 2013 the Atlanta Board of Education passed a resolution restoring Booker T. Washington HS to one comprehensive high school with one principal, at which time Dr. Tasharah Wilson was appointed principal (2014-2018). Dr. Angela Coaxum-Young took the helm in Fall 2019 - present.



    Washington Cluster Mission

    The Washington Cluster will continue the legacy of excellence by supporting students in reaching their highest potential

    through a whole-child and community centered approach to ensure college and career preparedness.



    Washington Cluster Vision

    The Washington Cluster utilizes the support of parents and community to inspire, and prepare students  to

    continue the legacy of greatness by becoming active citizens who advocate for their local and global community.


    BTW Mission 
    With a caring culture of trust and collaboration, every student will graduate ready for college and career. 


    BTW Vision 
    A high-performing school where students love to learn, educators inspire, families engage and the community trusts the system.