• Esteves Eshe P. Collins Leslie Grant Byron Amos

    Jason F. Esteves (Seat 9)
    Board Chair

    Eshe' P. Collins (District 6)
    Vice Chair

    Leslie Grant
    (District 1)

    Byron Amos
    (District 2)


    Michelle D. Olympiadis Nancy Meister Erika Y. Mitchell   Kandis Wood Jackson   Cynthia Briscoe Brown  

    Michelle D. Olympiadis
    (District 3)

    Nancy M. Meister 
    (District 4)

    Erika Y. Mitchell
    (Seat 5)

    Kandis Wood Jackson
    (Seat 7)

    Cynthia Briscoe Brown
    (District 8)

    The Atlanta Board of Education establishes and approves the policies that govern the Atlanta Public School system. The Board consists of nine members, representing six geographical districts and three "at-large" districts. One person is elected per district to represent the schools in a given district for a four-year term.

    Under the provisions of the new board charter, approved by the Georgia Legislature in 2003, Board members elect a new chair and vice-chair every two years. The day-to-day administration of the school district is the responsibility of the Superintendent, who is appointed by the Board.
    Click here for a printable version

    Schools Located in District


    District 1

    Elementary Schools:  Benteen, Dobbs, Hope-Hill, Mary Lin, Barack & Michelle Obama Academy, Parkside, Slater, Thomasville Heights, Wesley International Academy, Atlanta, Neighborhood Charter, KIPP Vision Academy, KIPP Vision Primary, The Kindezi School (OFW)
    Middle Schools: King, Price, Atlanta Neighborhood Charter, KIPP Vision Academy, Wesley International Academy, The Kindezi School (OFW)
    High Schools:  Carver High School,  Carver Early College, Grady,  Jackson


    District 2

    Elementary Schools:  Dunbar, F. L. Stanton, Finch, Michael R. Hollis Innovation Academy, M. Agnes Jones, Centennial Olympic Academy, KIPP STRIVE Academy, KIPP STRIVE Primary, KIPP WAYS Academy, KIPP WAYS Primary
    Middle Schools:  Brown, KIPP STRIVE Academy, KIPP WAYS Academy
    High Schools:  Douglass, Washington, KIPP Atlanta Collegiate, North Metro

    District 3

    Elementary Schools:  Burgess-Peterson Academy, Morningside, Springdale Park, F. A. Toomer, Drew Charter
    Middle Schools:  Inman, Drew Charter
    High Schools:  Crim, Drew Charter, Adult Education
    Residential Flexible Learning Program:  Hillside Conant

    District 4

    Elementary Schools:  Brandon, Brandon Primary, Garden Hills, Jackson, Jackson Primary, E. Rivers, Smith, Smith Primary, Atlanta Classical Academy
    Middle Schools:  Sutton, Atlanta Classical Academy
    High Schools:  North Atlanta 

    District 5

    Elementary Schools:  Beecher Hills, Bolton Academy, Boyd, Fain, Miles, Peyton Forest, Scott, Towns, Tuskegee Airmen Global Academy, The Kindezi School (Westlake), Westside Atlanta Charter

    Middle Schools: 
    Harper-Archer, John Lewis Invictus Academy

    High Schools: 
    Mays, West End Academy

    Single Gender Schools (6-12): 
    B.E.S.T. Academy, Coretta Scott King Young Women's Leadership Academy

    District 6

    Elementary Schools:  Cascade, Cleveland Avenue, Continental Colony, Deerwood Academy, Fickett, Gideons, Heritage Academy, Humphries, Hutchinson, Kimberly, Perkerson
    Middle Schools:  Bunche, Long, Forrest Hill Academy, Sylvan Hills
    High Schools:  South Atlanta, Therrell, Forrest Hill Academy


    Please click here for the board agenda and relevant action items.