Atlanta Public Schools is poised to become one of the top-performing urban school systems in America. Our innovative learning programs, nationally recognized best practices and excellent teachers are making a difference in the lives of our 50,000+ K-12 students. We are committed to ensuring that all students graduate from our schools ready for success in college and life, and prepared to build a stronger Atlanta.
    (Revised 03.21.2024 - Effective 03.22.2024)

District Organizational Structure

  • Atlanta Board of Education

    Office of Internal Compliance, Connie Brown

    Board Office, Pierre Gaither

    General Counsel (Contractor), Nina Gupta

    • Deputy Chief, Laurance Warco


    Interm Superintendent, Dr. Danielle S. Battle

    Special Assistant to the Superintendent, Sherri Forrest

    General Counsel (Contractor), Nina Gupta

    • Deputy Counsel, Laurance Warco


    Deputy Superintendent, Erica Long

    Equity, Shateena Love

    Athletics, Corrie Collier

    Partnerships & Grants Development, Joi Hunter

    Policy & Governance, Vacant


    Chief of Schools, Tommy Usher

    Associate Superintendents for Schools: Paul Brown, Shelly Goodrum, Kala Goodwine, Lisa Hill, Margul Woolfolk
    Charter & Partner Schools Support, Matthew Underwood

    Executive Director, Isaac Sparks



    Chief Human Resources Officer, Nicole Lawson

    Talent Management & Leadership/Career Development, Felecia Lester

    Employee Experience & Performance, Isis Manboard

    Total Rewards & Workforce Management, Jennifer Lang


    Chief Financial Officer, Lisa Bracken

    Accounting Services, Tanisha Oliver

    Budget Services, Harpreet Hora

    Payroll & Benefits/Risk Management, Saundra Burgess

    Procurement, Crystal Pierson

    Federal Grants & Programs, Lyndsay Evans


    Chief Performance Officer, Matthew Smith

    Data & Information Group, Joseph Austin

    Information Technology, Femi Aina

    Innovation, Improvement & Redesign, Kevin Maxwell


    Chief Academic Officer, Yolonda Brown

    Teaching & Learning, Vacant

    Instructional Technology, Aleigha Henderson-Rosser

    Student Services, Chelsea Montgomery


    Chief Operations Officer, Larry Hoskins

    Deputy Chief Operations Officer, Troy Williams

    Facilities Services, Dan Drake

    Police, Ronald Applin

    Security, Ralph Valez

    Nutrition, Eric Bankhead

    Transportation, John Franklin

    Warehouse Services, James Carter


    Chief Strategy & Engagement Officer, Travis Norvell

    Strategy & Governance, Carolyn Barnett 

    Family & Community Engagement, Keasha Copeland

    Student & Employee Engagement, Alpachino Hogue


    Chief Communications Officer, Dorna Werdelin

    Communications Projects & Governance, Portia Kirkland

    Media Relations & Social Media, Seth Coleman

    Executive Communications, Connie Stevenson

    Editorial & Video Production, William Powell



District Organizational Chart

If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.