• Office of Communications Graphic

     

    The essential functions of the Office of Communications & Public Engagement fall under three large umbrellas:
     
    Contact us:
     
    Pat St. Claire, Executive Director of Communications and Public Engagement
    Pat.Stclaire@atlanta.k12.ga.us 
     
    Michael Wilburn, Administrative Assistant
    mwilburn@atlanta.k12.ga.us
     
     

    Strategic and Executive Communications

    The Communications team develops and implements strategic communications plans to promote district initiatives. We keep an eye on the big picture of how your work aligns with the district mission and vision.

    The Strategic Communications team takes a hands-on approach to communications planning and consultation in order to increase awareness and involvement of specific, targeted groups, generate support for the public, policy makers and stakeholders, and promote positive news about the district. We write press releases, coordinate media events, assist with parent communication, and support public engagement.

    Executive Communications develops speeches, board remarks, talking points, scripts and related communications for the superintendent and other APS executives. The Director of Executive Communications also supports media relations, public engagement and strategic communications as required as part of the Office of Communications and Public Engagement.

    Let us know how we can help support your communications needs or go to our tips section to get started on your own. Download to our Communications Worksheet to help draft your plan.

    Contact us:

     

    Phil Taylor, Director of Executive Communications

    prtaylor@atlanta.k12.ga.us

     

    Latisha Gray, Director of Communications

    latisha.gray@atlanta.k12.ga.us

     

    Seth Coleman, Communications Officer

    seth.coleman@atlanta.k12.ga.us

     

    Alicia Lurry, Communications Officer

    alicia.lurry@atlanta.k12.ga.us

     

     

    Media Relations and Social Media

    The Media Relations & Social Media team helps manage district messaging either through direct contact with media outlets or strategic use of social media channels.

    The Assistant Director of Media Relations develops and executes the public relations program for Atlanta Public Schools by providing strategic communications counsel to senior management, divisions and schools by applying proactive and reactive communications strategies to enhance the brand and reputation of the district.  We direct all media relations and public relations activities by fielding media inquiries, developing press material, executing press outreach, and cultivating relationships with reporters and assignment editors to generate positive media coverage for the district. We are also the media’s first point of contact for district crisis communications and the public information office for the Atlanta Public Schools Police Department.

    The Social Media Administrator manages the districts’s social media channels to engage with internal and external APS stakeholders. We work with department and school clients to highlight achievements throughout the district to ensure that the APS story is being communicated consistently and compellingly.

    All APS divisions, departments and schools are encouraged to reach out to us for media coverage and/or social media assistance to help publicize your work!

    Contacts us:

     

    Kimberly Willis Green, Assistant Director of Media Relations

    kwgreen@atlanta.k12.ga.us

     

    Jasmine Mosley, Digital/Social Media Administrator

    jasmine.mosley@atlanta.k12.ga.us

     
     

     

    Creative Services

    The Office of Communications provides a number of creative services to support your school, division or department including creative design, brand oversight, and video production.

    The Multimedia and Brand Design team helps create the visual elements you need to communicate your work, and makes sure that everything seen by our stakeholders presents our district professionally and consistently.

    The Broadcast and Video Production team shoots and produces compelling video packages for district promotion or internal use, as well as programming on Channel 22.

    Schools, divisions and departments can work with us in a number of ways to create effective and engaging visual elements for any initiative. Sometimes we merely provide guidance and brand approval for self-designed elements, or quite often we own the creative process and produce everything from training videos or quick video teasers, to department text treatments and iconography, to large-scale campaign or event branding like posters, banners, t-shirts, etc.

    Click here to learn more about these services and district branding, or choose a link from the list on the left.

    Whether we take the lead with your creative needs or support you as you create your own elements, we’re ready to help you bring your visual communications to life.

    Contact us:

     
    BRANDING and DESIGN VIDEO SERVICES
    General Inquiries or Project Submission
     
    William Tolbert
    Director of Broadcast Technology 
    multimedia@atlanta.k12.ga.us 
    William.Tolbert@atlanta.k12.ga.us 
    Bill Goodman
    Director of Multimedia  and Brand Design
    Scott Turley
    Video Production Editor
    bill.goodman@atlanta.k12.ga.us sturley@atlanta.k12.ga.us
    Charlotte Napper
    Senior Designer
    cnapper@atlanta.k12.ga.us
    Edgar Robinson
    Designer
    Edgar.Robinson@atlanta.k12.ga.us